Daniel Nóbrega, with a doctorate at the IAC, is awarded the SEA prize for the best thesis of 2018

Daniel Nóbrega-Siverio, Isabel Santos and Concepción Cárdenas, SEA Awards 2019 for the best Spanish Doctoral Thesis.
Advertised on

The prizewinning thesis, with the title “Eruptive Phenomena in the solar atmosphere: radiative-magnetohydrodynamic models and the development of a numerical code” which was defended in July 2018 at the University of La Laguna, was directed by Fernando Moreno Insertis, Professor at the University of La Laguna and senior researcher at the IAC, and co-directed by Juan Martínez Sykora, of the Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory (LMSAL) California. Nóbrega Siverio is a postdoctoral researcher at the Rossland Centre for Solar Physics at the University of Oslo, (Norway).

In his thesis Daniel Nóbrega Siverio was researching a certain type of eruptive solar phenomna using theoretical-numerical techniques to model the physical processes in the solar plasma, and to perform a spectral synthesis of the radiation emitted by these eruptions, for direct comparison with observations. He also developed a new model for the Bifrost code, which allows an efficient study of the effects of partial ionization in electrodynamics. The prize awarded was thd prize of the Spanish Society of Astronomy (SEA) for the best doctoral thesis in Astronomy and Astrophysics in its 2018 edition, which was recently announced.  

The same prize was awarded ex aequo, to Isabel Santos Santos, with a doctorate from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, for her research entitled “Dwarf galaxies in the LCDM model: distribution of hosts, dust emission, and internal structure” whose co-director was Chris B. Brook, an astrophysicist at the IAC and the ULL.

The 3rd SEA Award for the best Spanish Doctoral Thesis in Instrumentation, Computing and Technological Development in Astronomy and Astrophysics went to Concepción Cárdenas Vázquez, done at the Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA).

More information:

(SEA press release) Daniel Nóbrega-Siverio, Isabel Santos y Concepción Cárdenas, Premios SEA Tesis 2019

(ULL press release) La tesis del alumno de la ULL Daniel Nóbrega-Siverio, premiada por la Sociedad Española de Astronomía