Severo Ochoa Programme

Jesús Serra Foundation visitors

Logo Fundación Jesús Serra

The IAC has been chosen by the Jesús Serra Foundation to participate in its “Visiting Researchers Programme” in the 2021 and 2022 editions. Each year, the programme supports a two or three months stays at the IAC for few number of visiting -professors of international prestige. These visits allow, first, to deepen the scientific relationship between the host research group and the visiting researcher, and secondly, to initiate new lines of action based on the generation of new scientific interests.

Related agreement: Convenio entre la Fundación Jesús Serra y el Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias

Researchers who have visited the IAC under this program are listed below:

  • Norbert Langer

    Prof. Norbert Langer has been one of the world’s leading experts in the field of theoretical Astrophysics for more than three decades. He investigates the evolution of high mass stars up to the point when they explode as supernovae. Born 1958, he studied in Göttingen, where he completed his doctorate in 1986. In the same year, Langer became the

  • Sebastián Sánchez

    Dr. Sebastián Sánchez, born in Badajoz, Spain, naturalised Mexican, studied a degree in Physics at the University of Salamanca and a PhD at the University of Cantabria (Spain). During his PhD he worked at the Observatorio de la Palma (Issac Newton Group of Telescopes), before moving to Madrid, where he worked as a systems administrator. After this

  • Diego Blas

    Dr. Diego Blas obtained his PhD in Physics in the University of Barcelona (Spain) in 2008. He was a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Prof. Shaposhnikov at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne till 2011. After a short research period in New York University, he moved to the Theory Division of CERN as a fellow in early 2012. He became a