Macaronesia's Researchers Night

In force date
Call year
María Carmen del
Puerto Varela
Financial institution
Financing program
Financing subprogram
Amount granted to the IAC Consortium
20.000,00 €

 Macaronesia is a biogeographical region of five archipelagos in the Atlantic Ocean of which four are inhabited: Azores (Portugal), Canarias (Spain), Madeira (Portugal) and Cape Verde (Cape Verde).

These islands share common geographical traits and cultural heritage, and have undergone a similar history since the beginning of the 15th century when they were discovered by Portuguese and Spanish sailors. Once major strategic outposts now they are considered as outermost (ultra-peripherical) regions of the EU (except Cape Verde, which declared its independence from Portugal in 1975). The population of Macaronesia is around 3 million inhabitants, corresponding to the size of a smaller EU country. The overall objective of this project is to organise a shared Researchers’ Night for the Macaronesia Region connecting the population of these islands under the umbrella of the universal language of science. By focusing on the scientific and technology areas identified in the Smart Specialization Strategies for the Canaries, Madeira and the Azores we will aim at raising public awareness for research areas that could be the greatest benefit for the Region. The project will support the public recognition of researchers, creating an understanding of the impact of researchers' work on citizen's daily life. Public recognition will then result in public support that is much needed for the implementation of the smart specialisation strategies themselves.

State of being in force
Type of funding